Print this page

A look at the new Iraqi Cabinet

Wednesday, 10 September 2014 10:22
Haider Al-Abadi, Prime Minister of Iraq Haider Al-Abadi, Prime Minister of Iraq

-(From various news sources)- Iraq’s parliament convened this week to scrutinize the cabinet of Haider al-Abadi. Haider Abadi spoke at the meeting and explained the principles of his programme. After that, the introduced ministers received a vote of confidence. Of 328 members of parliament, 286 members participated and 177 members voted for the new government. The representatives of the Badr organisation, 22 members in total, boycotted the session by not participating. Haider Abadi announced that he will introduce the ministers of defence and interior next week. The current structure of the government is as follows: 

President: Fouad Massoum

Vice-presidents: Nouri al-Maliki, Ayad Allawi and Osama Nujaifi

Prime Minister: Heidar Abadi

Deputy Prime Minister: Hoshyar Zebari, Saleh al-Mutlak and Bahaa al-Araji

The ministers who received a vote of confidence are as follows: 

1. Ibrahim al-Jaafari, Minister of Foreign Affairs
2. Rose Nuri Shaways, Minister of Finance 
3. Adel Abdul Mahdi, Minister of Oil
4. Hussain al-Shahristani, Minister of higher education
5. Salman Jumaili, Minister of Planning
6. Haidar al-Zamli, Minister of Justice
7. Muhammad Mahdi al-Bayati, Minister of Human Rights
8. Falah Hassan Zeidan, Minister of Agriculture
9. Naseer al-Issawi, minister of Industry
10. Qassim Mohammad Fahdawi, Minister of Electricity
11. Tariq Kikhany, Minister of Construction and Housing
12. Baqir al-Zubaidi, Minister of Transport
13. Kazem Hassan Rashed, communications minister
14. Mohammed Shia al-Sudani, Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
15. Dr Adila Mahmoud Hussein (female), Minister of Health
16. Qutaiba al-Jubouri, Minister for the environment
17. Muhammad Iqbal, Minister of Education 
18. Molasses Mohammad Abdul Karim al-Husseini Kesanzany, Minister of Commerce
19. Fars Younes Jeju, Minister of Science and Technology
20. Faryad Rawandouzi, Minister of Culture 
21. Abdel Hussein Abdel Reza Abtan, Minister of Sport and Youth
22. Ahmed Abdullah al-Jubouri, Minister for Provincial Affairs and the House of Representatives
23. Abdel Karim Younis, Minister of Municipalities

Method of power sharing:

Shiites: two Vice president, a deputy prime minister and fourteen ministers. 
Sunnis: a vice president, a deputy prime minister and seven ministers.

Kurds: a deputy prime minister and three ministers. 

Christians: a minister. 

The only female minister is the Minister of Health, Dr Adila Mahmoud Hussein of the Dawa Party.